Environmental Management Systems – Your A – Z guide

How Do I Participate?

The Process

The Acorn scheme uses UKAS accredited Acorn Inspection Bodies to provide confirmation that you’ve successfully implemented the relevant Phases of the British Standard BS 8555.

In order to participate in Acorn, you’ll first need to implement the requirements of one or more of the Phases.

BS 8555 has five key Phases:

  1. Commitment & establishing the baseline
  2. Identifying & ensuring compliance with legal and other requirements
  3. Developing objectives, targets & programmes
  4. Implementation and operation of the EMS
  5. Checking, audit & management review

The final Phase, following successful completion of the above five, prepares for either EMAS registration or certification to the international standard ISO14001.

Each of the Phases has been divided into a number of key Stages. For each of the Stages, achievement criteria have been defined which the organisation will work towards, and in turn form the basis of the Acorn Inspection for each Phase.

Click on the boxes below for more detailed information about each phase.

The BS 8555 standard ‘BS 8555:2003: Environmental Management System. Guide to the phased implementation of an environmental management system including the use of environmental performance evaluation’ is available through our online shop.

IEMA members receive a 15% discount on the normal selling price, non members a 5% discount. Click on the link below for further details:

BS 8555 Publication