Environmental Management Systems – Your A – Z guide

EMAS Competent Body

EMAS logo The EMAS competent body is responsible for the registration of organisations under EMAS. The competent body controls the entry and maintenance of organisations on the EMAS register. Competent bodies are designated by each EU Member State under the condition that the competent body composition is such to guarantee their independence and neutrality.

In the UK, IEMA is the EMAS competent body as designated by The Department of Environment, Food and Rural Affairs (Defra).

The role of the EMAS competent body includes:

  • Registering organisations that comply with the relevant EMAS requirements
  • Deleting or suspending organisations
  • Liaison with Competent Enforcement Authorities - Environment Agency, Scottish Environment Protection Agency (SEPA), N Ireland Heritage Service, BERR (formerly DTI), local authorities.
  • Notifying the European Commission of those who are on the register
  • Participate in Competent Bodies Forum

Along with DEFRA, contribute to Member State's EMAS Promotional Strategy

  • Develop an understanding of the market for EMAS registration
  • Help to produce guides, leaflets
  • Speak at conferences, seminars and workshops
  • Promote the achievements of registered organisations

Charges for EMAS registration/annual renewal

SME and local authorities: £840 for registration and £420 for annual renewal

Larger companies: £1620 for registration and £840 for annual renewal

For multi sites: £2160 for registration and £1080 for annual renewal

Contact the Competent Body at: emas@iema.net

Last modified July 25, 2016 9:21:17 AM